College --> Campus Resources

Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE)

The Western Undergraduate Exchange Program (WUE) is a program under the Western Interstate Commission of Higher Education(WICHE).  Students who are residents of a WICHE state are able to attend college in another state at a reduced tuition rate (150% of the resident tuition).

WICHE states include: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming.

As of January 2008, Hawaii residents interested in participating in WUE can enroll in two- and four-year schools.

To be eligible for the WUE, you must be a resident of a WICHE state listed above. Some schools also have additional requirements such as SAT/ACT scores.  Check with the college/university for their requirements and deadlines. 

To apply for the WUE, there is no official application form.  You may indicate that you want to be considered for the program by checking off a box or indicating it on the college/university application of your chosen school. 

For general information:
(303) 541-0270
Student Exchange Programs
Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education
3035 Center Green Drive
Boulder, CO  80301 

Middle School

High School

College Years